Kansas Society of CPAs Elects 2019-2020 Officers and Directors

The Kansas Society of CPAs held its Annual Meeting on November 1, 2019 at the Accounting Innovation Center in Kansas City. Damon C. Ward, CPA, CGMA was elected Chair of the Board for 2019-2020. 

Damon is Director of Tax for Spirit AeroSystems, Inc. with responsibility for all tax matters across Spirit subsidiaries on a global basis. In addition to his responsibilities as Spirit’s tax leader, Damon also serves as a board member and treasurer for Spirit’s PAC, Spirit’s Charity Golf Classic, and several of Spirit’s international subsidiaries. Damon is a member of Spirit’s Investment Committee, Compliance Committee, Mentoring Alliance Program Committee, and is actively engaged in leadership roles for Spirit’s Good Neighbor Fund (United Way), Spirit of the Harvest (hunger relief) and has served as an executive sponsor for Spirit’s participation in the American Diabetes Association Tour de Cure Wichita for the last four years. Outside of Spirit, Damon is a member of the W. Frank Barton School of Business Advisory Board at Wichita State University as a representative for Spirit AeroSystems. 

Damon graduated in 1997 from Wichita State University’s W. Frank Barton School of Business with a degree in Accounting and is a licensed Certified Public Accountant and Chartered Global Management Accountant. Damon began his career with Ernst & Young in Wichita, KS and worked in various corporate taxation roles at Koch Industries for nearly nine years before joining Spirit in 2009. Damon and his wife, Kristi, have a son, Ethan. In his spare time, he enjoys cooking, travel, watching Wichita State basketball, landscape photography and cycling. 

Other elected officers of the 2019-2020 Executive Committee are: Vice Chair, Christina Ricke, CPA, CGMA, K•Coe Isom, Wichita; Secretary/Treasurer, Amber Goering, CPA, CGMA, Goering & Granatino, P.A., Overland Park; and Immediate Past Chair, Jay D. Langley, CPA, CGMA, Summers, Spencer & Company, P.A., Salina.

2019-2020 KSCPA Executive Committee

Pictured above (left to right): Christina Ricke, CPA, CGMA, Damon C. Ward, CPA, CGMA, Amber Goering, CPA, CGMA, and Jay D. Langley, CPA, CGMA. 

Elected to three-year terms on the Society’s Board of Directors are: Jayna Bertholf, M.S., Southwestern College, Winfield; Jessica R. Dwyer, CPA, M.Acc, K•Coe Isom, Wichita; Alan Howarter, CPA, Vess Oil Corporation, Wichita; Trina M. Swart Harmon, CPA, MBA, Sabala, Harmon & Case CPAs, P.A., Wichita; and Meagan Wellbrock, CPA, Adams Brown Beran & Ball, Chtd., Hays.

2019-2020 KSCPA Board of Directors

Pictured above (left to right): Jayna Bertholf, M.S., Melissa Goetz, CPA/ABV, ASA, Jessica R. Dwyer, CPA, Radona Smythe, CPA, CGMA, Eric Parkhurst, JD, CPA, Meagan Wellbrock, CPA, Daniel Gaston, CPA, CCIFP, Julie Albano, CPA, CGMA, Christina Ricke, CPA, CGMA, Robyn Seglem, CPA, CGMA, Jerry Capps, JD, Jay Langley, CPA, CGMA, Alan Howarter, CPA, Amber Goering, CPA, CGMA, Damon Ward, CPA, CGMA, and Zach Mastroly, CPA, CGMA. 

The Kansas Society of Certified Public Accountants is a 2,700+ member, voluntary association dedicated to supporting and developing its members while promoting the accounting profession. Learn more by visiting www.kscpa.org.

Kansas Society of CPAs Elects 2019-2020 Officers and Directors

View more press releases