

FOR IMMEDIATE PRESS RELEASE: November 19, 2020

Kansas Society of Certified Public Accountants Celebrates New & Future Accounting Professionals!

The Kansas Society of Certified Public Accountants (KSCPA) and accounting community came together to celebrate rising stars and a bright future for the accounting profession on Thursday, November 12, 2020 at the virtual Kansas Society of CPA's Awards.

CPA Exam Passers

KSCPA recognized and celebrated recent CPA Exam passers for the dedication, preparation, hard work, and vision it took to pass all four parts of the CPA Exam. KSCPA and its' members look forward to cultivating and mentoring these hard-working professionals as they continue their professional journey.

Michelle Anderson, Jayna Bertholf, Brooke Blaes, Shay Brown, Tara Bunker, Matthew Busey, Colton Castelli, Drew Clarke, Micheal Day, Jacob Dickey, Jared Douglas, Ashley Eberhart, Drake Evans, Sarah Fielding, Cory Fischman, Allie Frisbie, Jenna Garcia, Elliot Gassman, Andrea Gates, Courtney Geist, Baron Green, Isaac Han, Victoria Hendren, Luke Hohl, Lauren Janzer, Linzy Kaniper, Joshua Karlin, Lanae LaBonte, Daniel Laverentz, Chadrick Lind, Manuel Marroquin, Kyle Meyer, Jordan Ortega, Lucas Palenske, Valeria Rosales-Toca, Alyssa Schultejans, Michelle Sims, Melissa Stallbaumer, Abby Stueder, Natalie Talley, Lindsay Thompson, Hallie Webel, Samantha Whiston, Logan Winter, Chloe Zimmerman

KSCPA Scholarship Recipients

The KSCPA Educational Foundation proudly recognized and celebrated the 2020 KSCPA scholarship recipients. The breadth and depth of the talent and dedication of this group of aspiring accountants is truly inspiring. Bringing great hope and enthusiasm for the future of the accounting profession.

Clayton Burrows (The University of Kansas) won the \$3,000 Byron Bird Graduate Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded based on undergraduate academic performance, potential for success in graduate studies, leadership, and participation in community, charitable, university, governmental and other civic activities.



Myriah Webster (McPherson College) won the \$2,500 John J. Killian Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a full-time student enrolled as an accounting major in their junior year at an independent Kansas college or university. Recipients are selected based upon demonstrated academic success in their accounting curriculum. Additional emphasis is placed upon grades in English and rhetoric subjects, courses in business and economics, as well as the recipient's involvement in extracurricular



activities, their willingness to comply with standards of professional responsibility, and their overall moral character.



Mary LaBelle (Kansas State University) won the \$2,500 Mary Ellen Kirkpatrick Leadership Scholarship. Funded by an endowment established by the KSCPA Educational Foundation in honor of the first woman chair of the Kansas Board of Accountancy and first woman to start a CPA firm in Kansas, this scholarship is awarded to a full-time student enrolled as an accounting major in their junior year at a Kansas college or university. Recipients must demonstrate academic success in accounting, economics, and business curriculums. Additional emphasis is placed upon

overall grades, involvement in leadership activities, willingness to comply with standards of professional responsibility, and overall moral character.

Each year, KSCPA offers 14 scholarships – seven graduate (totaling \$17,500) and seven undergraduate (totaling \$15,750). The scholarships are presented to bright accounting students at Kansas Board of Regents universities and Washburn University. Winners are selected by accounting faculty. This year, the KSCPA Educational Foundation had the honor of presenting each of the following graduate students (or graduate school candidates) with a \$2,500 scholarship:

Mallory Milstead, Fort Hays State University Kara Dewey, Kansas State University Colin Webber, Pittsburg State University Carolina Taylor, Emporia State University Nathan Hayden, Wichita State University Olivia Hulke, University of Kansas John Collar, Washburn University

The winners this year of a \$2,250 undergraduate scholarship include:

Samual Neff, Fort Hays State University Julie Schrick, Kansas State University Madison Keller, Pittsburg State University Dale Miller, Emporia State University Collin Sharp, Wichita State University Sydney Dahlgren, University of Kansas Conner Poteete, Washburn University

Generous donations to the KSCPA Educational Foundation afford the ability to present these scholarships to worthy students to assist in financing their education and simultaneously serves to build the accounting talent pool in Kansas. If you are interested in making a difference by contributing please visit:

https://www.kscpa.org/about/educational_foundation_contribution



The KSCPA Educational Foundation was incorporated on October 23, 1963, as a non-profit organization to fund educational programs that advance the accounting profession. The Foundation is proud to invest in the accounting pipeline of up-and-coming professionals through the issuance of scholarships funded by the generous donations of our members and the general public. To learn more about KSCPA Educational Foundation scholarships, please visit: https://www.kscpa.org/students/scholarships

The Kansas Society of Certified Public Accountants is a 2,500+ member, voluntary association dedicated to supporting and developing its members while promoting the accounting profession. Learn more by visiting www.kscpa.org.

###

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:

Liz Gaume Kansas Society of CPAs Member Relations Coordinator liz@kscpa.org 785-272-4306